Criminal Penalties in Texas
Death penalty, life in prison without the possibility of parole unless the individual is a certified minor
Tex. Penal Code Ann. §12.31
First Degree Felony
Jail for life or Imprisonmentfor not more than 99 years orless than 5 years with the exception of aggravated sexual assault, which adds a25 year minimum punishment if the victim is younger than14 and the offense containedthreats of serious bodilyinjury or death or the use of a deadly weapon AND potentially a fine not to exceed $10,000.
Tex. Penal Code §12.32
Second Degree Felony
2 – 20 years in jail AND potentially a fine not to exceed $10,000.
Tex. Penal Code §12.33
Third Degree Felony
2 – 10 years in jail AND potentially a fine not exceed $10,000.
Tex. Penal Code §12.34
State Jail Felony
180 days – 2 years in jail AND potentially a fine not to exceed $10,000.
Tex. Penal Code §12.35 (a), (b)
1 year in jail or a fine not to exceed $4,000 or both.
Tex. Penal Code §12.21
180 Days in Jail OR A fine not to exceed $2,000 or both.
Tex. Penal Code §12.22
Fine not to exceed $500
Tex. Penal Code §12.23
We're Criminal Defense Attorneys in Dallas TX
No matter what type of criminal offense that you’ve been charged with, it is alway srecommended that you hire an attorney as soon as possible. Although the graphs listed above are meant to help give you an understanding of the range of punishments in Texas, the graphs are notan all-inclusive list of the types of punishments or penalties that the State of Texas can enforce.
It is best to contact a criminal defense attorney who will help you understand exactly what sort o fpunishment you as a defendant are facing. To help you better understand what sort of punishments or penalties you may be facing Contact The Presti Law Firm, PLLC TODAY
Here’s how you can get started with our team:
Step 1: Contact us for an assessment and consultation.
Choosing A Path
Step 2: We’ll offer personalized strategy development.
Step 3: Our team will offer you dedicated support and guidance.